Naaaaaaaan. Naan naan naan naan naaaaan. *

*To the tune of Elton John’s ‘Crocodile Rock’, obviously.

Today I made naan.

I don’t like making curry unless I can also make naan. But it takes time because it is a bread that requires a very long rising time, so it’s two bursts of time commitment you need to have.

But today I did it. For the second time ~EVER~. I bought a Masterchef cookbook today and one of the only recipes I could feasibly make for dinner was a lentil curry (by ~Callum) and I decided this at about 4pm, and I happened to have natural yogurt in the fridge (from making tzatziki), so NAAN AND CURRY WOULD BE HAD.

I’m not going to post the curry recipe because it’s probably online and also I didn’t take any photos and also I made no amendments from the original recipe, but it was the first time I’d ever cooked with lentils and it was yummy and too hot for Kiara and a bit overcooked.

ANYWAY, NAAN:

Recipe mostly stolen from here: http://www.manjulaskitchen.com/2007/05/22/naan-bread/, but I cooked it differently because I don’t have a pizza stone.

Makes six large naan…s

Ingredients

-1 tsp yeast (copying this out, I realised I used a whole packet of yeast. It worked, so just use Some Yeast)
-3/4 Cup lukewarm water
-2 Cups flour
-1tsp salt
-1tsp sugar
-Pinch of baking soda
-2 Tbsp olive oil
-2 1/2 Tbsp natural yogurt

-Olive oil
-A clove of garlic

1. Dissolve yeast in water. Set aside for 10 minutes or until it starts to foam up.

2. Mix flour, sugar, salt and baking soda. In a bowl.

3. Add oil and yogurt. Mix to a crumbly dough.

4. Add yeasty water, mix to soft dough. Knead a bit.

5. Cover with a tea towel and stand in a warm place (the bowl, not you, but you can too if you like) for 3-4 hours. The dough should double in size.

6. Once it’s all big, dust your bench and hands with flour and knead out dough for 3 minutes. Divide into six lumps.

7. With a rolling pin, roll each lump out to 20cm long ovals.

8. Heat some oil to very hot in a heavy pan. Chuck in one of the doughvals (hah). It’ll probably stretch out a bit as you pick it up and place it in but that is fine! As it cooks, air bubbles should puff up. Flip over when underside is getting golden brown. Take it out when it looks like naan. Rub with some garlic. Yeaaahhhhh. Repeat with remaining doughvals.

TA-NAAAAN!
One of the delicious six, the others of which got consumed very quickly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Naaaaaaaan. Naan naan naan naan naaaaan. *

  1. Matthew Vaughn says:

    Take it out when it looks like naan – I love it.

    I also love that the dough has yoghurt in it. I have never made naan so I don’t know these things.

    I recomment trying some with cumin.

    *giggle*

    • Nicola Macri says:

      *giggle*

      You should definitely try making it. It is super easy and super rewarding and yeah, yogurt, who knew?

      Indians. Indians knew.

      Thank you for subscribing! I feel all important. With my one subscriber.

  2. Emily says:

    How awkward that I forgot to subscribe thus far

Leave a comment